City council/County council/South Cambs, how does it all fit together?

Cambridge City Council is a non-metropolitan district council within the county of Cambridgeshire. The city council is the lower tier authority in a two-tier system and is responsible for functions such as local planning, waste collection and housing.

Cambridgeshire County Council is the upper tier authority and is responsible for functions such as education, social services, roads and waste disposal. Both authorities are based in the city of Cambridge; the city council has its head office in the Guildhall to one side of the Market Square, and the county council has its head office at Shire Hall on Castle Street. For administrative purposes the city is divided into fourteen wards, each of which has four elected councillors, three for the city council and one for the county council.

There are four other district councils within Cambridgeshire: Fenland, Huntingdonshire, South Cambridgeshire and East Cambridgeshire.

Cambridge City is entirely surrounded by South Cambridgeshire and has no boundary with any other district. The boundary between the two has not been significantly altered for many decades and runs through some residential areas. In 2008 there were discussion to review and rationalise the boundary, and maps of the proposed changes were published. However, in July 2011 South Cambridgeshire District Council took the decision (unilaterally) to abandon the review.

councils.txt · Last modified: 2012/01/06 13:29 by denisp
Creative Commons License Recent changes RSS feed Powered by PHP Driven by DokuWiki
not happy with this page? Then click here
help on reading recommendations pages